Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Writing On The Wall - 1995 - Cracks In The Illusion Of Life

Writing On The Wall 
Cracks In The Illusion Of Life 

01. Quords And Music 02:18
02. Peter Gunn 02:51
03. Felicity Jane 03:17
04. Flight Of The Mind 03:35
05. Katie's Been Gone 02:39
06. Fishers Of Men 06:27
07. Buffalo 06:54
08. Nobody Knows 04:00
09. Bellyful Of Rock 05:39
10. Man Of Reknown 03:28
11. Tripsy Lady 04:01

1-2 recorded 1967
3-5 recorded 1968
6-8 recorded 1972
9-11 recorded 1973

Linnie Patterson – vocals
Willy Finlayson – guitars
Jake Scott – bass
Bill Scott – keyboards
Jimmy Hush – drums

Rare unreleased psychedelic material by this great Scottish band who were regulars at Middle Earth etc in the '60s. Subtitled 'A History Of Writing On The Wall', this 1995 release is a great retrospective compilation covering the career of this late 60's to early 70's band from Edinburgh who released a true prog classic with 1969's 'The Power Of The Picts'. Stoned psychedelic rock with a twisted dark side.

Released on a beautiful gatefold sleeve TENTH PLANET RECORDS (UK TP017) in 1995 and is strictly limited to 1000 handnumbered copies,as well as is available Re-issue CD 2002 Progressive Line 24 BIT Digitally Remastered.

This excellent collection is a history of the band 11 tracks of acid may hem collected from the period 1967-1973 contains some previously unreleased recordings. Of their retrospective albums, Cracks In The Illusion Of Life contains both sides of a 1967 45, 'Words And Music' / 'Peter Gunn', issued originally as The Jury. Also featured are two promising pop-psych tracks from 1968; 'Felicity Jane' and 'Flight Of The Mind' plus the more mainstream 'Katie's Been Gone'. From 1972 there's the keyboard-orientated' Fishers Of Men'.


  1. http://www.filefactory.com/file/4olkc89gsltj/4744.rar

  2. Thank you Drago!