Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Stack Waddy - 1971 - Stack Waddy

Stack Waddy
Stack Waddy

01. Road Runner
02. Bring It To Jerome
03. Mothballs
04. Sure 'Nuff 'N' Yes I Do
05. Love Story
06. Susie Q
07. Country Line Special
08. Rolling Stone
09. Mystic Eyes
10. Kentucky

11. With One Leap Dan Was By Her Side, 'Muriel' He Breathed 4:19
12. Ginny Jo 2:48
13. Hunt The Stag 2:45
14. Mystic Eyes (Alternative Version) 3:52
15. (Almost) Milk Cow Booze 4:11
16. Leavin' Here 2:58
17. I'm A Lover Not A Fighter 2:37
18. Here Comes The Glimmer Man 5:14
19. Nadine 3:53

Bass – Stuart Banham
Guitar – Mick Stott
Harp, Vocals – John Knail
Percussion – Steve Revell

Producer – John Peel

Although forming in Manchester, England, in 1965 under the banner of New Religion, Stackwaddy first came to attention at the 1969 Progressive Blues Festival in Buxton with their boisterous brand of British '60s-styled R&B.

Signing with John Peel's Dandelion label, they released the single "Roadrunner" in 1970, followed by their self-titled debut album in 1971. Led by singer John Knail, they developed a reputation as an excellent live act, despite Knail's habit of throwing bottles or assaulting crowds who were not appreciative of their efforts. Another single, "You Really Got Me," followed in 1972, as did their second album, Bugger Off, a title which saw it banned by several shops. Dwindling success led to the band's demise although Barnham did revive the group with a new lineup of Mike Sweeny (vocals), Wayne Jackson (bass), and Kevin Wilkinson (drums) from 1973-1976.

Stack Waddy's debut album is one of the "must hear" discs of the early 1970s, an uncompromising roar that might cavort through that shell-shocked no man's land that sprawls between Captain Beefheart and the Edgar Broughton Band, but which winds up defiantly beholden to absolutely nothing else you've ever heard -- one reason, perhaps, why the group vanished with so little trace. Recorded live in the studio (or thereabouts), Stack Waddy is a blurring blend of brutal band originals and deliciously mauled covers. Beefheart's "Sure Nuff N' Yes I Do" is an unblinking highlight, while raw takes on "Suzie Q" and "Road Runner" remind us of the group's mid-'60s genesis on the Manchester R&B scene. There's also a version of Jethro Tull's "Love Story" that comes close to topping the Sensational Alex Harvey Band in terms of lascivious power and ferocity. Certainly John Knail takes no prisoners as he howls his way through and, while Stack Waddy holds back from completely recreating the live band experience (there are no breaking bottles, for a start), still this is one of those few albums that genuinely requires you to wear protective clothing.

1 comment:

  1. http://www.filefactory.com/file/1a1nw545dn1x/4732.rar