Thursday, April 27, 2017

The Easybeats - 1977 - The Shame Just Drained

The Easybeats
The Shame Just Drained

01. Little Queenie
02. Baby I'm A Comin'
03. Lisa
04. I'm On Fire
05. Wait A Minute
06. We'll Make It Together
07. Peter
08. Me And My Machine
09. The Shame Just Drained
10. Mr. Riley Of Higginbotham & Clive
11. Kelly
12. Where Old Men Go
13. Johnny No-One
14. Amanda Storey
15. Station On Third Avenue

Additional Tracks
16. Do You Have A Soul, 3rd Version
17. Check The Bassline
18. Watch Me Burn
19. Where Did You Go Last Night
20. Heaven And Hell
21. Happy Is The Man
22. Land Of Make Believe
23. Coke Jungle #1
24. Coke Ads #2 & 3

For a group that really only scored one major international hit, the Easybeats' songwriting team -- Harry Vanda and George Young -- were very busy bees indeed in the studio in the late '60s. All but one of the songs on this 15-track compilation are taken from sessions between late 1966 and late 1968 that were unreleased at the time; five come from an album that was canned at the last minute. Apparently there were about 20 more outtakes where that came from. Don't pay any mind to the ridiculous claim in the sleeve note that "had all the material been released in the sequence (and quantity) it was created, then the Easybeats' impact might have been far more notable and we might today be comparing their albums alongside Rubber Soul, Aftermath, and other rock milestones." This is cheery late-'60s pop with mild psychedelic influences, echoing the Small Faces, the Turtles, and especially the Kinks. The cheeriness, in fact, verges on childish and sickly sweet in places. It's not bad. In fact, it's occasionally pretty good; it's just not incredibly significant. By far the best track is "Mr. Riley of Higginbottom & Clive," a bit of dry class satire that compares well with Ray Davies' vignettes from the same era.

1 comment: