Saturday, April 8, 2017

Keef Hartley - 2013 - British Radio Sessions 1969-1971

Keef Hartley
British Radio Sessions 1969-1971

01. Medley: Overdog/ Roundabout/ Just a cry/ Sinnin' for you 25:11
02. You Can't Choose 5:55
03. You Can't Take It with You 8:00
04. Sinnin' for You 3:19
05. Too Much Thinking 5:33
06. Interview with Keef Hartley 1:09
07. Me And My Woman 3:36
08. Waiting Around 2:24
09. Too Much Thinking 5:42
10. Just a Cry 3:39
11. Shadows Across the Wall 4:35
12. To Whom It May Concern (Miller Anderson Band) 3:18
13. High Tide, High Water (Miller Anderson Band) 7:26

In its pomp, the Keef Hartley Band was an extraordinarily powerful combination of rock and jazz. These sessions recapture the excitement of their live performances. A laconic introduction by John Peel gives way to the wonderfully driving medley Overdog/Roundabout/Just to Cry/Sinning for you, where the musicianship and sheer musical exuberance leave you gasping. Congratulations to whoever dug these forgotten gems out of the lockers. The BBC sound engineers did a top job. If you want to understand why some many modern bands sound so pallid, just sit back and enjoy this amazing collection.

1 comment: