Saturday, April 8, 2017

Keef Hartley - 1973 - Lancashire Hustler

Keef Hartley
Lancashire Hustler

01. Circles
02. You And Me
03. Shovel A Minor
04. Australian Lady
05. Action
06. I Know Something
07. Jennie's Father
08. Dance To The Music

Backing Vocals – Elkie Brooks, Robert Palmer
Bass – Philip Chen
Drums – Keef Hartley
Keyboards – Jean Rouselle
Organ, Synthesizer [Moog] – Mick Weaver
Vocals – Jess Roden
Vocals, Guitar – Junior Kerr

7th album (and the last of his Decca releases) by the great UK drummer Keef Hartley with another new version of his band, which included vocalist Jess Roden (Alan Bown), vocalist / guitarist Junior Kerr, guitarist Jim Mullen, bassist Philip Chen, keyboardist Jean Rouselle and organist Mick Weaver. Vocalists Elkie Brooks and Robert Palmer also helped out. The music is tight and has a strong Brass-Rock feel, mixing Blues, Rock, Jazz and some Prog elements. In retrospect the music still sounds great after all these years and Hartley's fans will surely love to have this one in their collection.

1 comment: