Thursday, April 27, 2017

Frode Thingnaes - 1980 - Direct To Dish

Frode Thingnaes 
Direct To Dish

01. Bumpin' 6:44
02. Caught In The Act 4:50
03. Along Came You 4:58
04. Sett Sjøbein 5:20
05. Three For The Money 5:14
06. Around Once More 5:18

Bass – Jan Erik Kongshaug
Drums – Thor Andreassen
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Synth [Mini Moog, Roland SH2, Roland Jupiter 4] – Henryk Lysiak
Guitar, Synth [Mini Moog, Roland VP 330 P Vocoder] – Pete Knutsen
Percussion – Svein Christiansen
Trombone – Frode Thingnæs

Sticker on front cover: "Norges Første Direktegraverte Plate"
Text from back sleeve: "It is the first commercially released direct-to-disc recording ever in this country."
Recorded March 10th and 11th, 1980 at Rosenborg Studios.

I have very little info about this album, so any help would be welcome, also if you have his album from 1978 I would be really grateful if you would share it with the rest of us... and also the guy that requested these other two albums.



  2. Yeehaaa.You have Frode Thingnaes.Amazing.I just got hooked with the few tracks I heard on you-tube,and here you come to the rescue.I am afraid I don't have some info to share about this amazing music.Thank you.

  3. The only observation I can offer is that bassist Jan Erik Kongshaug is Manfred Eicher's preferred recording engineer for most of the ECM jazz catalogue - especially those albums recorded in Oslo