Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Blackfoot Sue - 1977 - Strangers

Blackfoot Sue 

01. Care To Believe 3:18
02. Touch The Sky 3:46
03. Shoot All Strangers 5:07
04. Tobago Rose 3:03
05. Nostalgia Ain't 3:47
06. Bye Bye Birmingham 3:18
07. Join Together 3:31
08. 1812 10:58

- Eddie Golga - lead guitar, keyboards, vocals
- Alan Jones - guitar, vocals
- Tom Farmer - bass, keyboards, lead vocals
- Dave Farmer - drums, vocals

Though the failure of “Nothing To Hide” to chart was obviously a bit of a setback for Blackfoot Sue, they pressed forward and recorded the follow-up album (or “sophomore” album if you will) “Strangers”. Taking up most of the second side was their version of Tchaikovsky’s 1812 Overture with the truncated title “1812”, a grandstanding high-spot of their live shows but perhaps testing at 11 minutes here. Away from that track “Strangers” was a very good second album and it is a head scratcher as to why it was never released at the time. By this time Blackfoot Sue had honed their Soulful and Funky Rock to perfection. Fast paced farewell to their hometown “Bye Bye Birmingham” was a natural single but somehow missed the chart as did the bonus track “You Need Love”, despite being a Proto-Metal/Soul dazzler.

Near title track “Shoot All Strangers” manages to work Gospel vocals into a Funky Faces/Kinks work out and there is hints of Thin Lizzy’s swagger on “Care To Believe”. Missing is one track that eventually came out as part of the LP in 1977 (only issued in the US as well) “Tobago Rose”; this was seen as a studio experiment by their manager and not a Blackfoot Sue track, so the band members understandably didn’t want it on this box set of the band’s work. Even without this makeweight “Strangers” is a good record and one that shouldn’t have been maligned and cursed to such a limited, after the fact, release. Unfortunately on that score, worse was yet to come.

After Blackfoot Sue folded in 1977 the Farmers and Eddie Golga decided on a swift change of direction was called for, hence their new Soul/Dance band Liner, who received with a decent level of success with a couple of near hits in the late 70s. Then came a “New Wave” outfit called Spoilers (two singles for MCA). Later still, into the 80s, the three tried once more with the more generic Pop/Rock band Outside Edge (who recorded extensively for the Virgin Records spin-off label 10). You can’t say they weren’t triers!

In summary Blackfoot Sue were a fine Hard Rock band with a knack for a catchy tune and a yen to do something a little different – it is a shame that they probably more suffered than benefited from the early hits, people (and management) may have expected the chart records to keep coming but they did not want to play that game. BS saw themselves in a more creative way than just a Pop jukebox and the evidence here proves they were right in their approach. They were a consistently good Hard Rock/Blues/Proto Metal band and perhaps could have attained a level not far short of the wonderful Faces – they certainly had all the tools at their disposal and are well worth hearing.

1 comment: