Saturday, April 8, 2017

Baker Gurvitz Army - 2010 - Live In Milan 1976

Baker Gurvitz Army
Live In Milan 1976

01. Hearts On Fire
02. People
03. Night People
04. White Room
05. Mystery
06. Thirsty For The Blues
07. Neon Lights
08. Inside Of Me
09. Memory Lane - Drums
10. Sunshine Of Your Love
11. Time - Smokestack Lightning Medley
12. Hearts On Fire Reprise

Bass – Adrian Gurvitz
Drums, Vocals – Ginger Baker
Guitar – Paul Gurvitz
Vocals – Mr. Snips

The Baker Gurvitz Army came into existence when former Gun and Three man Army members Paul and Adrian Gurvitz joined forces with legendary drummer Ginger Baker in 1974. The Baker Gurvitz Army was the first real musical project for Ginger Baker since the short-lived band Salt in 1972 and Ginger Baker's Airforce some two years prior to that. The band released their first album the self titled Baker Gurvitz Army in late 1974 and the album sold well enough to break in to the American charts. The band went on to record two further studio albums including Elysian Encounter in 1975 and Hearts On Fire in 1976.The band also featured vocalist Snips who had previously been with British band Sharks and keyboardist Peter Lemer formerly of Barbara Thompson's Paraphernalia and Seventh Wave

This live recording which forms part of the Official Ginger Baker Bootleg Series was recorded in Milan on the 23rd of March 1976 during the tour to promote what would turn out to be the bands final studio album Hearts On Fire. The set list at this time reflecting the desire to promote the album included four tracks from the album including Hearts On Fire, Night People, Thirsty For The Blues and neon Lights. There are also two tracks from Elysian Encounter (People and Time) and two from the bands self titled debut (Inside Of me and Memory Lane) Interestingly enough at this point in the bands career they elected to include two Cream songs in the set and both Sunshine Of Your Love and White Room are also included here.

The recordings featured in the Official Ginger Baker Bootleg Series are sure to become collector's items and are all sanctioned by Ginger Baker.

This live recording is one of several releases based on the private archives of legendary drummer Ginger Baker, which finally see the light of day. Although not intended for a formal release and suffering from "bootleg" sound quality problems, the musical importance of this material is so significant, that it overshadows any technicalities and is essentially a Godsend. This album brings a live recording of the group Baker Gurvitz Army, which he founded with ex-Gun and Three Men Army members guitarist Paul Gurvitz and bassist Adrian Gurvitz and ex-Sharks member vocalist Steve Parsons (aka. Snips). Baker Gurvitz Army recorded only three albums during its short life-span, and any additional material by the band is invaluable. The material is drown from the band's studio albums and was recorded during the band's final tour. Several surprises are heard here for the first time, like the group's version of Cream's "Sunshine Of Your Love". Definitely worth investigating, provided you're not squeamish about sound quality.

1 comment: