Monday, March 27, 2017

The Grassella Oliphant Quartette - 1965 - The Grass Roots

The Grassella Oliphant Quartette
The Grass Roots

01. One For The Masses 4:34
02. The Descendant 3:00
03. Star Dust 4:02
04. Uptown Hours 4:04
05. Mrs. O 3:23
06. Haitian Lady 4:05
07. Shiny Stockings 4:10
08. Granfather's Waltz 3:31
09. Step Lightly 4:36
10. Mood Indigo 3:16

Bass – Ray McKinney
Drums – Grassella Oliphant
Tenor Saxophone – Harold Ousley
Vibraphone – Bobby Hutcherson

The Grass Roots pairs the only two recordings drummer Grassella Oliphant ever released as a leader. He was a solid sideman in the 1950s with Sarah Vaughan, and then later with singer Gloria Lynne and organist Shirley Scott. Both these titles were released on Atlantic. The first, The Grass Roots, features saxophonist Harold Ousley, Bobby Hutcherson on vibes, and bassist Ray McKinney. It's a varied date ranging from killer groove soul-jazz such as Ousley's "One for the Masses," covers of "Stardust" and "Mood Indigo," and hard bop swingers like "The Descendant" (also written by Ousley). Oliphant's playing is delightfully understated, but his contrapuntal work with Hutcherson is literally startling. Ousley's playing should be noted for its fury and tenderness, depending on the tune. His use of restraint is tentative because it allows him to bust it wide open at all the right moments with a big fat reedy tone.



  2. Thank you, very nice!

  3. Been looking out for this one for years, CHEERS!