Friday, March 17, 2017

Edgar Winter - 1975 - Jasmine Nightdreams

Edgar Winter
Jasmine Nightdreams

01. One Day Tomorrow
02. Little Brother
03. Hello Mellow Feelin'
04. Tell Me in a Whisper
05. Shuffle-Low
06. Keep on Burnin'
07. How Do You Like Your Love
08. I Always Wanted You
09. Outa Control
10. All Out
11. Sky Train
12. Solar Strut

 Rick Derringer  -  Guitar, Vocals
Dan Hartman  -  Bass, Guitar, Percussion, Vocals
Johnny Winter  -  Guitar, Harmonica, Vocals
Edgar Winter  -  Keyboards, Vocals
Rick Marotta  -  Drums
Chuck Ruff  -  Drums, Vocals

Not since his debut, Entrance, had Edgar Winter appeared in a solo capacity. This time out, he reverts to his heavy jazz and gospel influences to produce an album that merits much more attention than what it ultimately received. Winter is decidedly laid-back on tracks such as "Hello Mellow Feelin'" and "Tell Me in a Whisper," which serve as the finest of the nine tracks here. Winter puts on his party hat once again with the rocking "Out of Control," the final track on a pretty nice little rock & roll document.

The great US blues rocker Edgar Winter's career was arguably, at it's best in the early '70's with his solo work and collaborations with brother Johnny. The pairs' early compositions were wonderful blends of R&B, rock, jazz, and soul. "Jasmine Nightdreams" was described by an Amazon reviewer as "pop, funk, R&B and pop rock to boogie, straight-ahead rock, acid rock, fusion, experimental synthesizer flights of fantasy, and straight jazz". A great description of this great album. In 1975, the Edgar Winter Group was riding high on success and on a creative roll. On "Jasmine Nightdreams", the band consisted of Edgar himself on keyboards, sax and vocals with help Dan Hartman on bass and vocals, shortly to have a worldwide hit with 'Instant Replay' and axe hero Rick Derringer on guitar and vocals. The later albums of Edgar, and Johnny, with White Trash, The Edgar Winter Group, and Roadwork were more pure rock orientated, had far less less jazz/soul influences, and appealed more to rock audiences, and nothing wrong with that. The 1976 "Edgar Winter and Johnny Winter Live" is a cracking album full of great Rock'N'Roll covers, and The Edgar Winter Group's 1972 "They Only Come Out at Night" album is one of the great rock albums of the early seventies. If you are not familiar with the more laid back, "gentler" side of Edgar Winter, you may like "Jasmine Nightdreams".

1 comment: