Thursday, February 16, 2017

Roy Haynes - 1973 - Senyah

Roy Haynes 

01. Sillie Willie 7:48
02. Little Titan 7:22
03. Senyah 5:30
04. Full Moon 6:14
05. Brujeria Con Salsa 4:01

Bass – Don Pate
Congas [Conga Drums] – Lawrence Killian
Drums, Timpani – Roy Haynes
Guitar – Roland Prince
Piano – Carl Schroeder
Tenor Saxophone – George Adams
Trumpet – Marvin Peterson

The energetic material here, features the great Roy Haynes leading a killer funky date with Marvin "Hannibal" Peterson on trumpet, George Adams on tenor saxophone, bassist Don Pate, congquero Lawrence Killian pianist Carl Schroeder and guitarist Roland Price. Adams wrote two stellar numbers on the set in "Silly Willie" and Full Moon, while Haynes and Peterson contributed one each. This set is a burner, featruing Haynes in an entirely new light.

1 comment: