Friday, February 10, 2017

Joanne Brackeen & Michael Brecker - 1977 - Tring-A-Ling

Joanne Brackeen & Michael Brecker

01. Shadowbrook-Aire 12:08
02. Fi-Fi's Rock 4:35
03. Echoes 9:11
04. Haiti-B 12:39
05. New True Illusions 5:56
06. Tring-A-Ling 6:31
07. New True Illusions 6:10

Bass – Cecil McBee, Clint Houston
Drums – Billy Hart
Piano – Joanne Brackeen
Tenor Saxophone – Mike Brecker

Pianist Joanne Brackeen's fourth recording as a leader was her first to include a horn, but she made a strong choice. Tenor great Michael Brecker is on three of Brackeen's challenging originals, along with alternating bassists Cecil McBee and Clint Houston, plus drummer Billy Hart. The pianist's music is complex and quite tricky, but more accessible than expected due to the close interplay between the superb musicians and the variety of rhythms utilized. Open-minded listeners are advised to check this one out.

1 comment: