Thursday, February 2, 2017

Horace Tapscott - 1978 - Song Of The Unsung

Horace Tapscott 
Song Of The Unsung

01. Song Of The Unsung 3:39
02. Blue Essence 3:51
03. Bakai 5:55
04. In Times Like These 7:01
05. Mary On Sunday 3:22
06. Lush Life 6:34
07. The Goat And Ram Jam 5:01
08. Something For Kenny 5:58

Piano – Horace Tapscott

Recorded on February 18, 1978 at United/western Studios in Hollywood, California

Horace Tapscott has long been one of Los Angeles' great jazz legends but the pianist has not been documented that thoroughly throughout his productive career. Other than a big band set from the same period, this solo piano LP was his first full-length recording. On what was a slightly more conservative set than most of his dates, Tapscott performs just two of his originals (including "Mary on Sunday") plus selections by Samuel Browne, Cal Massey ("Bakai"), Lester Robertson, Jesse Sharps, Elmo Hope and Billy Strayhorn ("Lush Life"). A fine outing that, if it were in-print, could serve as a fairly accessible introduction to the masterful pianist.

1 comment: