Thursday, February 16, 2017

Horace Parlan & Archie Shepp - 1977 - Goin' Home

Horace Parlan & Archie Shepp 
Goin' Home

01. Goin' Home 6:08
02. Nobody Knows The Troubles I've Seen 4:40
03. Go Down Moses 4:18
04. Steal Away To Jesus 6:14
05. Deep River 4:49
06. My Lord What A Morning 4:38
07. Amazing Grace 4:20
08. Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child 5:19
09. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot 2:42
10. Come Sunday (Duke Ellington) - 7:43

Archie Shepp: Arranger, Saxophone (Soprano), Saxophone (Tenor)
Horace Parlan: Piano

Recorded April 25, 1977 at Sweet Silence Studios, Copenhagen.

Archie Shepp's two duet albums with pianist Horace Parlan on SteepleChase (the other one is 1980's Trouble in Mind) both find the innovative avant-garde tenor in relaxed and melodic form, respectfully interpreting music of the 1920s and before. Goin' Home features Shepp (who doubles on soprano) and Parlan playing tasteful versions of nine ancient black folk melodies including "Swing Low, Sweet Chariot," "Nobody Knows the Troubles I've Seen" and "Deep River." Those listeners only familiar with Shepp's earlier Fire Music will find these compelling performances to be a revelation. ~ Scott Yanow, All Music Guide

1 comment: