Monday, February 27, 2017

Amalgam - 1976 - Another Time

Another Time

01. Jive 5:39
02. Suzie Jay 6:03
03. Tribute To 'Trane 6:58
04. Just East Of Mars 6:30
05. Another Time 11:30
06. Chips 10:06

Recorded at The Workhouse Studios, New Cross, London, 21st & 23rd July 1976

Trevor Watts - alto & soprano saxophones
Steve Hayton - guitar
Pete Cowling - bass guitar
Liam Genockey - drums

4th  album by the superb British Jazz / Improvised Music ensemble Amalgam, one of the precursors of British / European Free Jazz scene in the late 1960s and 1970s, founded by saxophonist Trevor Watts. On this album the lineup is a quartet, including guitarist Steve Hayton, bassist Pete Cowling and drummer Liam Genockey, which marks the beginning of the second phase of Amalgam, which is characterized by the dual saxophone – guitar frontline. The music is written entirely by Watts, who after the departure of drummer John Stevens became the group's main composer. This album was originally released on the tiny German independent Vinyl label, and was unavailable for many years, which is now rectified by this CD issue. With the guitar and electric bass the sound of the band changes completely, with a distinct Fusion feel, but the dexterity and obvious genius are still the same as always. This is probably the most accessible Amalgam album ever recorded and young listeners, ignorant of the band's Improvised Music roots should be able to enjoy it immensely. This is still a classic, although a different cup of tea altogether. Brilliant stuff!

First time outing on CD for this classic Amalgam recording originally released on Berlin's
Vinyl Records in 1976. Trevor Watts heads a highly experienced line up which includes
Steve Hayton on guitar, the bass guitar of Pete Cowling and the confident drumming of
Liam Genockey and features six mostly Watts composed original quartet pieces.



  2. Finally got it to work. Awesome band!