Friday, January 20, 2017

Captain Beyond - 2013 - Live Anthology

Captain Beyond 
Live Anthology

Live In Montreux - September 18, 1971
101. I Can't Feel Nothin' (Part 1)
102. As The Moon Speaks (To The Waves Of The Sea)
103. Astral Lady
104. As The Moon Speaks (Return)
105. I Can't Feel Nothin' (Part 2)
106. Dancing Madly Backwards (On A Sea Of Air)
107. Armworth
108. Myopic Void
Live In Miami - August 19, 1972
109. I Can't Feel Nothin' (Part 1)
110. As The Moon Speaks (To The Waves Of The Sea)
111. Astral Lady
112. As The Moon Speaks (Return)
113. I Can't Feel Nothin' (Part 2)
114. Dancing Madly Backwards (On A Sea Of Air)
115. Armworth
116. Myopic Void
117. Thousand Days Of Yesterdays (Intro)
118. Frozen Over

Live In New York - July 17, 1972
201. Dancing Madly Backwards (On A Sea Of Air)
202. Armworth
203. Myopic Void
204. Thousand Days Of Yesterdays (Intro)
205. Frozen Over
206. Dawn Explosion Jam
207. Mesmerization Eclipse (Including Drum Solo)
Live In Los Angeles - May 26, 1977
208. Distant Sun
209. Dancing Madly Backwards (On A Sea Of Air)
210. Armworth
211. Myopic Void
212. Breath Of Fire (Part 1)
213. Breath Of Fire (Part 2)

Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals – Lee Dorman
Drums – Bobby Caldwell
Lead Guitar, Backing Vocals – Larry "Rhino" Reinhardt
Lead Vocals – Willy Daffern (tracks: 2-8 to 2-13)
Lead Vocals, Tambourine – Rod Evans

1000 copies... straight copy of legendary "Completer"bootleg

Captain Beyond made two, count 'em, two albums with Rod Evans on lead vocals. They are probably two of the very best albums from that time period. Each dedicated to a different member of the Allman Brothers band who passed during the time of the recordings (perhaps a good thing they didn't record a third, and never mind the later third album; no Rod Evans and not nearly the sense of reckless experimentation that went into their songwriting), each displayed a great combination of amazing musicianship, great songwriting and an energy that is sorely lacking today.
So those of us obsessive about this band always wanted more - we wanted proof that they were as good live as they were in the studio.
These bootlegs give us that - at a very high price... not a high money price, but at the price of some really bad recordings.
Sadly there is a bootleg live video floating around of the band playing (it is the first 'set' on these CDs) and Cleopatra (the releasing label) didn't bother to get hold of those tapes, which have better sound quality.
Using Audacity I have managed to go in and improve the quality to some level; sampled and removed much of the hiss and then restored some of the high end... but there is only so much I can do with free software and a decent computer. Cleopatra should have thrown some dollars at this project; if I can make it better a pro could have made it almost listenable.
But I gave this five stars because of what I learned about the band from these recordings. They were tight; they were inventive; they were everything I ever wanted them to be live. And best of all I was able to figure out some of the lyrics which were a) cryptic and b) ridiculously poorly translated for the Japanese CD reissues of the first two albums. I had no idea, for instance, that Rod was singing "I no longer saw colors, only grey, only grey" on 'Armsworth'.
These bootlegs are good enough for me to have heard that. If you are reading this it is because you love Captain Beyond; in which case buy a copy. If you have no idea about what Captain Beyond was then stick to the first two studio albums.

1 comment: