Monday, December 5, 2016

The Zoo - 1968 - Presents Chocolate Mouse

The Zoo 
Presents Chocolate Mouse

01. Chocolate Moose
02. Written On the Wind
03. I've Been Waiting Too Long
04. Soul Drippin's
05. Get Some Beads
06. Ain't Nobody
07. Try Me
08. Love Machine
09. Have You Been Sleepin'
10. From a Camel's Hump

Murphy Carfagna - Rhythm Guitar
Mike Flicker - Drums, Percussion
Terry Gottlieb - Bass
Howard Leese - Lead Guitar
Ira Welsley - Vocals

Under the tutelage of Mike Cobb, 1968 found the band signed to Cobb's own Sunburst label. A single "Subset Strip" b/w "One Night Man" (catalog number )did little commercially, but attracted the attention of Bell Records which subsequently agreed to finance an LP. Produced by Cobb (who also contributed several songs), 1968's "The Zoo Presents Chocolate Moose" served as an interesting debut.

With all five members contributing material, the set was musically pretty varied. Straddling genres,'Chocolate Moose' offered up a distinctive garage influence; 'Get Some Beads' and 'From a Camel's Hump' found the band taking a stab at lightweight psych, while 'Soul Drippin's' showcased a penchant for blue-eyed soul . While you couldn't really consider them artistic innovators, the collection was still enjoyable andl worth hearing. The collection sold poorly and the band subsequently calling it quits.

1 comment: