Thursday, December 8, 2016

Rusty Bryant - 1972 - Wild Fire

Rusty Bryant 
Wild Fire

01.  Wildfire     6:55
02. It's Impossible     5:03
03. Riders On The Storm     6:55
04. The Alobama Kid     7:48
05. If You Really Love Me     5:55
06. All That I've Got     5:30

Congas – Buddy Caldwell
Drums – Idris Muhammad
Guitar – Ernest Reed, Jimmy Ponder
Organ – Bill Mason
Saxophone – Rusty Bryant

This along with Rusty's previous album for the Prestige label The Fire Eater are my favorites by the Ohio sax man who enjoyed success with the tune "Night Train" in the 50s for the Dot label. He's virtually unknown outside of die hard fans of his music which is unfortunate because he can blow the greasiest funkiest tenor sax with a trademark growling sound wether on alto or tenor.

As the AllMusic review states this albums groove factor is greatly enhanced by the great funk drumming of Idris Muhammad aka Leo Morris on drums. On organ Bill Mason really plays his butt off especially on the album's closer "All I've Got" he kills it testifying like a Pentecostal preacher. Jimmy Ponder handles the guitar with Ernest Reed joining Ponder on the title track "WildFire" for a neat dual guitar arrangement. Speaking of the title track it's probably the best tune on this album along with the Billy Preston penned "All I've Got" which is a tour de force for the whole group they take it out on a high.

1 comment: