Thursday, December 8, 2016

Rusty Bryant - 1969 - Night Train Now!

Rusty Bryant 
Night Train Now!

01. Count Boogaloo     5:52
02. Funky Mama     5:50
03. Funky Rabbits     5:35
04. Night Train     5:20
05. With These Hands     4:22
06. Home Fries     5:50

Bass – Eddie Mathias
Drums – Bernard Purdie
Guitar – Joe Jones
Organ – Jimmy Carter
Saxophone – Rusty Bryant

An effort very much consistent with producer Bob Porter's Prestige "house" soul-jazz sound, utilizing players who would contribute to many other similar efforts in the late '60s and early '70s, particularly guitarist Joe "Boogaloo" Jones and drummer Bernard Purdie. These beefy, straightforward grooves include a remake of Bryant's arrangement of "Night Train" (one of his most popular recordings in the version he cut for Dot). The writing credit for "Funky Rabbits" is given as "unknown," but it sure sounds a lot to these ears like a retitled version of Ray Charles' "Hallelujah, I Love Her So."

1 comment: