Saturday, December 10, 2016

Houston Person - 1973 - The Real Thing

Houston Person 
The Real Thing

01. You Are The Sunshine Of My Life 8:55
02. Since I Fell For You 6:23
03. Until It's Time For You To Go 4:10
04. Pain 13:50
05. Angel Eyes 7:05
06. Easy Walker 8:30
07. Kittitian Carnival 7:15
08. Could It Be I'm Falling In Love 4:20
09. Where Is The Love? 4:00
10. Tain't Nobody's Business If I Do 3:50
11. Don't Go To Strangers 3:50
12. Crazy Legs 6:48

Houston Person, Wild Bill Moore - Tenor Saxophone;
Eli Fountain - Alto Saxophone;
Marcus Belgrave, Donald Townes - Trumpet;
Jimmy Watson, Sonny Phillips - Organ;
Buddy Caldwell - Congas;
Robert Lowe, Grant Green - Guitar;
James Jamieson - Bass;
Hank Brown, Idris Muhammad - Drums;
Spanky Wilson, Etta Jones - Vocals.

Recorded Live at Watt's Club Mozambique, Detroit, Michigan
Label: Eastbound Records – 2EB 9010 (US)

The Real Thing proved to be Houston Person’s Prestige Records’ swan-song. It was  a double album of cover versions. Songs by Stevie Wonder, The Spinners and The Ohio Players that feature on The Real Thing, which features the great and good of jazz.

Just like previous albums, Houston brought onboard guitarist Grant Green, drummers Hank Brown and Idris Muhammad and Hammond organists Sonny Phillips and Brother Jack McDuff. They were joined by vocalist Etta James, who added the vocal on Don’t Go To Strangers. This was one of twelve tracks on The Real Thing, which proved to be Houston Person’s Prestige Records’ finale.

On its release in 1973, The Real Thing, Houston Person’s twelfth album wasn’t a commercial success. It was however, well received by critics. Blues, jazz and R&B sat side-by-side. However, sales were what mattered, and The Real Thing proved to be the end of Houston Person’s time at Prestige Records. It would be two more years before Houston released another album.

1 comment: