Thursday, December 1, 2016

Fire Water Air & Sky Saxon - 1977 - Golden Sunrise

Fire Water Air & Sky Saxon 
Golden Sunrise

01 Time Travel
02 Food for the Hungry
03 Voyage
04 Atlanteans
05 Go with the Flow
06 New Revolution
07 Wolf Pack
08 Come to the Ocean
09 Across the Prairie
10 Just Moving On
11 Celebration

In the mid 1970s, the former leader of The Seeds, Sky Saxon (then Arelich Sunlight Aquarian), joined forces with the musicians of the Brotherhood Of The Source, Ya Ho Wha 13, to form Fire Water Air. They produced only one recording: the legendary 'Golden Sunrise', which was originally released in small number of on 8-track cartridge. It is presented here fully re-mastered for the first time and includes an insert written for this release by guitarist Djin Aquarian.

With the late Father Yod no longer a factor, the musicians in Fire, Water, Air (who had been involved in the releases by Yahowa) could get down to the business of being, more or less, an actual rock band. A rock band not like many or any others, of course, but nonetheless a group that was not hindered by Yod's inept vocals or scattered mystical lyrics. Considering the 1977 release date, it comes across as timewarped, way-underground psychedelia at least five years out of synch with the times (not a bad thing, just an observation). As was usually the case with the Father Yod/Yahowa projects, songs and melodies are not the musicians' strengths. What matters more is the overall vibe. Distorted guitar riffs and tribal rhythms comprise the jammy template upon which the players unleash half-inspired, half-unfocused, spaced-out hard acid rock. The harder-rocking tunes here, though more professional than those on the Yahowa LPs, tend to be meandering and uninteresting, the highlights as usual supplied by Djin Aquarian's unpredictable assortment of ghostly high-voltage guitar tones. Sky Saxon sings on some of this stuff, and though the credits don't specify which tracks, it's probably on the bluesiest, albeit most humdrum, ones. Actually, the standouts are the acoustic Neil Young soundalikes near the end ("Across the Prairie" and "Just Moving On"), as well as the eerie closing chant-song "Celebration," with its echoing vocals and mournful violin.



  2. Error code for 2 days on filefactory ?

  3. Works here. Just wanted to say that Time Travel is a killer instrumental almost on a par with Pink Floyd's "Interstellar Overdrive", roughly recorded but a gem. Djin's (I'm assuming) guitar feedback tones are amazing! Also noteworthy is the singer on the 2 "Prairie" tracks.. Neil Young influenced perhaps but a great voice. Doesn't sound like Sky, does anyone know who this is?