Saturday, December 3, 2016

Chetarca - 1975 - Chetarca


01. Death Of Rock & Roll Singer
02. Another Day
03. Diary
04. Chetarca
05. The Ocean Suite
06. The Sea
07. Wet Suit
08. Fisherman's Nightmare

Bruce Bryan - Synth
Geoff Gallent - Drums
Paul Lever - Vocals, Harmonica
Ian Miller – Guitar
John Rees - Bass, Violin
Andrew Vance - Keyboards, Vocals

Operating out of Melbourne in the mid-seventies, this band were a sort of Aussie equivalent to Emerson, Lake and Palmer. They only released one 45, ‘Another Day’, but it spent three weeks in the Top 100 peaking at No.75 in September 1975. No other Australian progressive album sounded like this one (which many now consider to be underrated). Musically, it is notable for no guitars - a dual keyboard assault of Andrew Vance (piano, organ) and Bruce Bryan (synthesiser) and Paul Lever's wailing harp and bluesy vocals. Side two is taken up with just one long track ‘Oceanic Suite’.
Taken from "Dreams, Fantasies and Nightmares" by Vernon Joynson, an extensive guide to Canadian / Australian / New Zealand and Latin American psych and garage music 1963 - 1976.
Not exactly of my taste but this LP is worth a listen especially for the 24 minutes long track "Oceanic Suite" ,with long complex dual synth compositions and interesting vocals, and the 8 minutes long "chetarca",with a psychotic synth solo leading to somekind of delirium.Otherwise the LP is synth driven progressive (sometimes too commercial for my taste) with blues-y vocals....Anyway,here it is for you to judge.

1 comment: