Thursday, November 17, 2016

Cold Blood - 1974 - Lydia

Cold Blood

01. Ready To Live
02. Simple Love Life
03. Under Pressure
04. When My Love Hand Comes Down
05. When It's Over
06. Consideration
07. I Only Wanted Someone To Hear Me
08. You're Free Lovin' Me
09. Come Back Into My Life Again
10.Just Like Sunshine

*Lydia Pense - Vocals
*Michael Sasaki - Guitar
*Paul Cannon - Guitar
*Steve Cropper - Guitar
*Joe Williams - Drums
*Tommy Cathey - Bass
*Rod Elliott - Bass
*Raul Matute - Keyboards
*David Luell - Alto, Tenor, Baritone Saxophones
*Max Haskett - Trumpet
*Jack Walrath - Trumpet
*Gaylord Birch - Drums
*Danny Kootch - Guitar
*Bobbye Hall - Congas, Percussion
*Chuck Bennett - Trombone
*Paul Hubinon - Trumpet
*Chuck Findley - Trumpet
*Bobby Shew - Trumpet
*Jim Horn - Tenor Saxophone, Flute
*Don Menza - Tenor Saxophone, Flute, Piccolo
*Peter Christlieb - Tenor Saxophone, Flute, Piccolo
*The Memphis Horns

Cold Blood is one of the original R'n'B horn bands from the late 60's/ early 70's that exemplified the "East Bay Grease" melding of funk & rock with blues and jazz elements. Lydia Pense has been compared to Janis Joplin, but is a true original and a pioneer in the women's rock movement. Lydia Pense and Cold Blood packed the San Francisco Ballrooms in their heyday, but that was then and this is now. In the now, Lydia Pense and Cold Blood still fill halls with cheering, dancing, foot-stomping fans. Far from fading over the years, Cold Blood has flourished.

In 1974 their 5th released simply called "Lydia", legendary Stax guitarist Steve Cropper produced and and played on three cuts. A soulful approach with the band playing a blue-eyed funk crossbred. Lydia Pense is in fine form as always.

1 comment: