Thursday, October 20, 2016

Bobby Whitlock - 1975 - One Of A Kind

Bobby Whitlock 
One Of A Kind

01. Movin' On 5:05
02. You Still On My Mind 3:06
03. Rocky Mountain Blues 2:55
04. Be Honest With Yourself 4:04
05. Goin' To California 3:47
06. Free And Easy (Way Of Lovin' You) 4:30
07. The Right Road Back Home 3:45
08. You Don't Have To Be Alone 5:45
09. Have You Ever Felt Like Leavin' 3:25
10. We Made It To The Moon 3:35

Bass Guitar – Kenny Tibbetts
Drums – Rick Eckstein
Electric Guitar, Banjo – T.J. Tindall

Guest, Congas – Jaimoe (tracks: A1, B1)
Guest, Piano – Chuck Leavell (tracks: A3, B2, B5)
Guest, Slide Guitar – Richard Betts* (tracks: B3), Dru Lombar (tracks: A3)
Guest, Tambourine – Johnny Sandlin (tracks: A5, B4)

Lead Vocals, Guitar [Leslie Guitar], Organ, Piano, Acoustic Guitar, Chimes, Backing Vocals – Bobby Whitlock

By the time of One Of A Kind, Bobby Whitlock had signed to southern-rock stalwart Capricorn Records. As a result, the album features some notable label-mate guests including Johnny Sandlin and members of the Allman Brothers. One of the highlights is Dickey Betts' tasteful and haunting slide on You Don't Have To Be Alone. Other notable tracks include Free And Easy (Way Of Lovin' You) which recalls Never Ending Song Of Love from Whitlock's days with Delaney & Bonnie and is a light and airy mini-masterpiece. Movin' On is one of the best songs from his entire career, featuring a driving rhythm section and amazingly tight band interplay. As usual, Whitlock injects everything he's got into his vocals, which range from a bluesy growl to a whisper.



  2. File Factory has been dead for days