Thursday, July 21, 2016

Bridget St. John - 1972 - Thank You For

Bridget St. John 
Thank You For

01. Nice
02. Thank You For...
03. Lazarus
04. Good Baby Goodbye
05. Love Minus Zero, No Limit
06. Silver Coin
07. Happy Day
08. Fly High
09. To Leave Your Cover
10. Every Day
11. A Song Is As Long As It Wants To Go On

Bonus Tracks
12. Nice -Live Version-
13. Silver Coin -Live Version-
14. Fly High -Live Version-
15. Lazarus -Live Version-
16. The River -Live Version-
17. Thank You For... -Live Version-
18. Ask Me No Questions -Live Version-
19. If You've Got Money -Live Version-

Tracks 12 to 19 are recorded live in Montreux, Switzerland on April 28, 1972.

Gordon Huntley Guitar (Steel), Pedal Steel
Rick Kemp Bass, Bass (Electric), Drums
John Martyn Composer, Guitar, Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Electric)
Dave Mattacks Drums
Pip Pyle Drums
Tim Renwick Guitar, Guitar (Electric)
Andy Roberts Guitar
Richard Sanders Guitar
Rick Sanders Guitar (Acoustic), Primary Artist
Bridget St. John Arranger, Guitar, Guitar (12 String), Keyboards, Primary Artist, Producer, Vocals
Bruce Thomas Bass, Bass (Electric)
Ian Whiteman Keyboards, Piano
John Wilson Drums

Bridget St. John has a small legion of fans willing to do battle for their hero, but to most she sounds like a pleasant, secondary British folk-rock artist of the early 1970s. Those impressions won't be changed by this, her third album, mixing low-key originals with covers of songs by Bob Dylan and Buddy Holly, as well as one of her most popular tracks, an interpretation of the traditional folk tune "Lazarus." Simply put, St. John doesn't come within bow-and-arrow range of Sandy Denny or Maddy Prior. She favors a low, slightly husky delivery that sometimes brings to mind what Marianne Faithfull might have sounded like in the late '70s had Faithfull's voice lowered naturally, instead of being ravaged. Reserve can be effective, but it sounds like St. John would need to be roasted over an open flame before her temperature rose. [The album was reissued on CD in 1995, with the addition of eight bonus tracks from a live performance in 1972.]

1 comment: