Friday, May 20, 2016

Brand X - 1997 - Mising Period

Brand X 
Mising Period

01. Dead Pretty (7:11)
02. Kugelblitz (11:03)
03. Ancient Mysteries (7:19)
04. Why won't you lend me yours? (8:46)
05. Miserable virgin (8:55)
06. Tito's leg (7:23)

- Phil Collins / drums
- John Goodsall / guitar
- Presto Heyman / percussion
- Percy Jones / bass
- Robin Lumley / keyboards

This album represents the earliest known recordings of Brand X circa 1975-76

The first 5 tracks are the complete BBC sessions, re-named for some reason.
Tracks 1, 2 and 3 were recorded at the BBC in February 1976, with Goodsall, Lumley, Jones and Collins in attendance.

Tracks 4 and 5 were recorded at the BBC in July 1976, with the same band, plus Preston Hayman on percussion.

The sixth track is a live improvisation.

This album is a collection of recordings made in the BBC studios before any Brand X albums were recorded. It shows the band in the process, almost complete, of coming up with their unique brand of fusion, featuring tight, fast playing and exciting compositions.
The songs show many of the themes and melodies that would come to comprise some of the songs on the first few albums. The sound quality isn't quite as good as their official studio albums, but it is still very good.

While I would recommend most of the albums that do not have Phil Collins the singer on them (Phil Collins the exceptional drummer is a different story) before this one, it is still a nice album by one of the premier fusion bands.

1 comment: