Tuesday, April 19, 2016

Mel Brown - 1968 - The Wizard

Mel Brown 
The Wizard

01. Ode To Billie Joe
02. Swamp Fever
03. Blues After Hours
04. African Sweets
05. Stop
06. Chunk A Funk
07. Miss Ann
08. W-2 Withholding

Mel Brown, Terry Evans (guitar)
Mack Johnston (trumpet)
Clifford Solomon (tenor sax)
unknown (piano, organ)
Ronald Brown (bass)
Paul Humphrey (drums)
Roy Brown (vocals)

 The Wizard is a straight-ahead soul-jazz date picking up where Chicken Fat left off with a few originals alongside funky renditions of “Ode to Billie Joe” and Pee Wee Crayton’s R&B hit of the late '40s “Blues After Hours.” Blues for We relies more on an interesting selection of cover versions ranging from “Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da” and “Son of a Preacher Man” to the bubblegum staple by the 1910 Fruitgum Company “Indian Giver” and Acker Bilk’s “Stranger on the Shore,” which was the theme of a BBC television drama. Brown’s guitar work on both sessions is fluid and greasy, as are the funky drum licks, but occasionally, the arrangements drift into superior background music.

1 comment:

  1. http://www.filefactory.com/file/5y7opom4wjgt/3483.rar