Sunday, April 10, 2016

Don 'Sugar Cane' Harris - 1973 - I'm On Your Case

Don 'Sugar Cane' Harris 
I'm On Your Case

01. I'm On Your Case 3:00
02. Keep On Trying 3:45
03. Makes It Kinda Hard 7:30
04. I Think I've Suffered Enough 4:00
05. Midnight Walk 4:15
06. Nothing But Time 4:00
07. I'm All In 5:15
08. Dear John 4:17

Drums – Clifton "Foo-Foo" Eddie* (tracks: A3, B1), Paul Lagos
Guitar – Randy Resnick
Guitar [Lead] – James Bradshaw
Harpsichord, Piano, Bass, Percussion – Dewey Terry
Saxophone [Tenor] – Richard Aplanalp
Trumpet – Bill Sprague
Vocals [Background], Percussion – Dalrie "Sunshine" Vail, Elsie Lewis
Vocals [Lead], Violin [Amplified], Organ, Bass, Percussion, Producer – Don "Sugarcane" Harris

Violinist Sugarcane Harris recorded a series of blues LPs for the German label MPS in the early to mid-'70s, though this effort is the least interesting of the lot. Consisting of eight originals, most of which are not particularly inspired, especially with the excessive production, including a backing vocalist, Harris overdubbing organ, bass, and percussion, and Dewey Terry's bland arrangements. The extended number "Makes It Kinda Hard," with a subtle freely improvised introduction, indicates a flash of the brilliance he displayed on his best MPS album, Sugarcane's Got the Blues. But as a whole, I'm on Your Case, which is long out of print (like all of Harris' recordings for the label), should not be considered as a high-priority acquisition by his fans.

1 comment: