Sunday, April 10, 2016

Captain Beefheart - 1974 - Unconditionally Guaranteed

Captain Beefheart 
Unconditionally Guaranteed

01. Upon the My-O-My (2:43)
02. Sugar Bowl (2:13)
03. New Electric Ride (3:02)
04. Magic Be (2:55)
05. Happy Love Song (3:54)
06. Full Moon, Hot Sun (2:19)
07. I Got Love on My Mind (3:08)
08. This Is the Day (4:51)
09. Lazy Music (2:51)
10. Peaches (3:20)

- Captain Beefheart (aka Don Van Vliet) / vocals, guitar, harmonica
- Andy DiMartino / guitar
- Mark Marcellino / keyboards
- Alex St Clair / guitar
- Rockette Morton (aka Mark Boston) / bass, guitar
- Del Simmons / flute, Tenor saxophone
- Art Tripp (aka Ed Marimba) / drums, percussion, keyboards
- Zoot Horn Rollo (aka Bill Harkleroad) / guitar

I am sick and tired of the lack of respect given to this album. For me, the Captain's discography as a whole should be appreciated as art, if nothing else.
"Unconditionally Guaranteed" is a master work, regardless of whatever hype or tensions that there are surrounding it.

'Full Moon, Hot Sun' is just one example of the greatnesses expressed in the songs on this album. Lyrically, the record as a whole is a slight departure for the Captain, but it is still brilliant and it is still the Captain. Musically, there is an enormous difference, but that is also in itself brilliant and it is still the Magic Band...not the "Tragic" Band, not in the least.

"The Spot Light Kid" and "Clear Spot" and even "Bluejeans and Moonbeams" are, in my opinion, an amazing era for the Captain and allowed him to try to avenues to successfully escape the 60s, still being able to make amazing music.

1 comment: