Thursday, March 3, 2016

Faust - 1997 - Faust Wakes Nosferatu

Faust Wakes Nosferatu

01. Ausbruch Nach Rumanien (21:53)
02. Verwirrung (18:20)
03. Telepathia (6:44)
04. Kampf der Machte (5:27)
05. Das Unheil breitet sich aus (12:05)
06. Die Entscheidung (7:30)

The LP version: 
01. Abgrunde (4:44)
02. Reise (8:09)
03. Ellen (Cry For...) (0:34)
04. Wehmut und Ekstasie (4:57)
05. Visions (7:02)
06. Sog (1:48)
07. Todesschiff (8:56)

- Hans Joachim Irmler / organ, electronics
- Lars Paukstat / percussion
- Michael Stoll / bass
- Steven Wray Lobdell / guitar
- Werner Diermeir / drums

Apparently this was composed by FAUST as sort of a companion piece of music to go with the classic vampire movie from 1922 called "Nosferstu" which was a silent film. Interesting because ART ZOYD did the official score for the re-issue of that film back in 1989. And it should also be noted that FAUST did an LP under this title too which was inspired by the film but is completey different from the cd version. It is also interesting to compare this with ART ZOYD's version and for my taste ART ZOYD have the better version by far. It's 20 minute less in length compared to FAUST's but more importantly when you listen to ART ZOYD's release it really comes across as music for that film while FAUST's just seems so random most of the time without any connection at all in my opinion.
"Ausbruch Nach Rumanien" opens with samples of various sounds including horses trotting on the street. Atmosphere here too. Spoken words 1 1/2 minutes in. Dark music takes over as it trips along. A haunting calm after 7 1/2 minutes. Percussion and louder sounds follow. It's haunting again 16 minutes in. Sounds start to come and go and they get quite loud. Silence from 20 1/2 minutes straight through to 1 1/2 minutes into the next song "Verwirrung". I hate silence in an album. Anyway various sounds start to get louder before 4 minutes. A calm after 6 1/2 minutes. It's noisy again 8 minutes in then it settles as this continues throughout.

"Telepathia" opens with atmosphere then sounds start to pulsate. Silence 3 1/2 minutes in. Organ comes in before 4 minutes and builds. It settles back as other sounds start to come and go. "Kampf Der Machte" has these faint organ sounds then drums and other sounds take over around 1 1/2 minutes. The beat stops at 4 1/2 minutes as random sounds come and go to end it. "Das Unheil Breitet Sich Aus" has these banging sounds and more. A calm before 3 minutes. Guitar 4 1/2 minutes in with a beat and atmosphere to the end. "Die Entscheidung" is eventually led by pulsating noises that will lead the way.

Not a bad album but too long for what it is in my opinion. ART ZOYD did it much better.

1 comment: