Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Subversion - 1976 - Subversion


01. L'Arbre Mort
02. Kaliani
03. Mektoub
04. Le Tube De L'Ete
05. Reverie
06. Mort D'Un Rat
07. 4, 5, 6
08. Jazz From Sarcelles
09. Submersion

Bass, Vocals – M. Chiarutini
Cello – E. Bailen
Drums – P. Smadja
Electric Piano [Fender Piano], Keyboards – J. Hurel
Guest, Grand Piano – F. Giblat
Guest, Guitar – M. Perièr, M. Bonnecarrère
Guest, Keyboards – P. Govin
Guitar [Guitars] – E. Mallet, J.L. Fauvel
Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone – P.J. Gidon

Recorded and mixed by Philippe Besombes at the "Studio du Chesnay" April 1976.

Certainly the most obscure album on Phillippe Besombes' Pole label. I hadn't even heard of it until recently (2008), and I think I'd heard every other Pole/Tapioca album by 1992! Featuring a crude black and white cover, it's exactly the sort of album you would expect to find on the FLVM label a few years later. This pre-Falstaff outfit mixed complex progressive rock in the Memoriance / Pulsar vein, along with jazz rock sections and some introspective folky moments. Not much cohesion, but they did well with each style they attempted. Very different from anything else on the label, except maybe Emergency Exit. And, like EE, Subversion was also not repressed by Tapioca later in the decade, adding to its obscurity.

1 comment:

  1. http://www.filefactory.com/file/5cnb29a58ue7/3179.rar