Friday, February 19, 2016

Rob Franken Organ-Ization - 1969 - Ob-La-Di Ob-La-Da

Rob Franken Organ-Ization 
Ob-La-Di Ob-La-Da


01. Scintilla    2:40
02. Some Soft Soul    2:52
03. Catch Fire    2:02
04. Holiday    2:48
05. Lucky Strike Blues    1:39
06. Black Jack    2:24
07. The Fool On The Hill    2:05
08. Hop Toad    2:20
09. Bottle Blue    2:51
10. At A Snail's Pace    3:40
11. Hunky-Dory    2:08
12. Mother's Nature Son    1:57
13. Ob-La-Di Ob-La-Da    2:00

Bass Guitar – Piet Hein Veening
Drums, Percussion – Louis Deby
Guitar – Joop Scholten
Organ, Piano, Electric Piano – Rob Franken

Recorded November, December 1968 at GTB-Studio, The Hague

1941 born Rob Franken was one of the key figures of all European organ players in the 1960s and 1970s. He was the first European to master the Fender Rhodes electric piano and among the first to handle the Hammond B3 organ. Although he was mostly obsessed with the Fender Rhodes throughout the late 1960s, the Hammond was the instrument he was best remembered for. Rob Franken started his career with the folk duo Esther & Abi Ofarim, then he moved to play with Klaus Weiss Trio in the mid 1960s. Soon after he formed his legendary own small combo, The Rob Franken Organization. The Organization released two albums - ‘Pon my soul in 1967 and Ob-la-di ob-la-da in 1969. He also played as a pianist of Toots Thielemans and a permanent organist / keyboard played for Peter Herbolzheimer Rhythm Combination and Brass. During his relatively short career, Franken played in over 400 records and was a very much liked person among session musicians. His sudden and unexpected death due to an internal hemorrhage at the age of 42 in 1983 ended his glorious career - only three days after his last recording session with the Rhythm Combination and Brass.
This second album by The Rob Franken Organization was fully an instrumental album. And it consisted of both covers and of original material. It’s mostly Hammond driven uptempo breakbeat funk in a strong Mohawks manner. During this second album the line-up was the following: Rob Franken on organ, Piet Hein Veening on bass, Joop Scholten on guitar and Louis Deby on drums. Let’s start with the title track “Ob-la-di ob-la-da”. It’s a very funky uptempo version of this well known Beatles track, although that song always reminds me of that tv-series called Life goes on. Other uptempo funkers include titles like “Black jack”, “Bottle blue”, “Catch fire”, “Hunky dory”, “Lucky strike” and “Scintilla. The only midtempo track is the rough funk cut “Hop toad”. Few downtempo soul instrumentals are also included. Overall this is one of the tightest albums ever released in the Continental Europe.