Sunday, February 14, 2016

Olli Ahvenlahti - 1975 - Bandstand

Olli Ahvenlahti

01. Breeze
02. Countenance
03. The Daughter
04. Cadenza For Christina
05. Sandy
06. Havana Two

Olli Ahvenlahti — piano, electric piano, clavinet, synthesizer
Bertil Löfgren — trumpet, fluegelhorn
Pekka Pöyry — soprano/alto saxophones, flute
Pekka Sarmanto — bass
Esko Rosnell — drums, pecussion

Olli Ahvenlahti is a Finnish pianist and composer, born in 1949 in Helsinki, and being one of the most well-known Jazz musicians back in 70's Finland.He had been a member of the Finnish jazz act UMO Jazz Orchestra and a long-time collaborator of Pekka Pohjola.Around the time he spent along with Pekka on Uni Sono Olli recorded his first solo album ''Bandstand'', released on the Finnish Love Records in 1975.Unlike many solo artists, Olli is occasionally the hero in this album, leaving plenty of space to a three-piece brass section with trumpets, saxes and flughorns.''Bandstand'' falls into the Jazz category with a Jazz-Rock attitude with passages ranging from ethereal to Loungle Jazz to Horn Rock, mixing that way elements from acts like If, Chicago and even Eberhard Weber.Nice work by Ahvenlahti mainly on electric piano, long and improvised solos by Bernt Rosengren and Pekka Poyry on alto and tenor saxes and a very groovy rhythm section with a tight playing.However the album lacks in originality and fails to impress with a style played hundred of times before by better bands.Still the arrangements are clever and well-executed.

1 comment: