Monday, February 8, 2016

Ars Nova - 1968 - Ars Nova

Ars Nova
Ars Nova

01. Pavan for my lady 2:45
02. General Clover ends a war 2:12
03. And how am I to know 4:45
04. Album in your mind 3:01
05. Zarathustra 3:30
06. Fields of people 2:52
07. Automatic love 4:05
08. I wrapped her in ribbons 2:18
09. Song to the city 2:08
10. March of the mad duke's circus 3:17

Jon Pierson - bass trombone & lead vocal
Wyatt Day - rhythm guitar, piano, organ, vocal
Maury Baker - percussion & organ
Giovanni Papalia - lead guitar
Bill Folwell - trumpet, string bass, vocal
Jonathan Raskin - bass, guitar, vocal

Ars Nova's first release was intermittently intriguing eclectic psychedelic rock with a slight classical influence, as well as some unusual instrumentation in the bass trombone of lead singer Jon Pierson and the trumpet and string bass of Bill Folwell. The songs -- often linked by brief interludes -- are a mixed bag, though, that seem to indicate a confusion over direction, or a bit of a psychedelic throw-in-everything-but-the-kitchen-sink approach. There are haunting tunes with a folk-rock base and a faint Renaissance ballad melodic influence, jaunty narratives with a vaudevillian air that bear the mark of then-recent albums such as Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, and harder-rocking period psychedelic tracks with a bent for unpredictable bittersweet progressions and vocal harmonies. It's unusual, and in some senses attractive. But to be less charitable, there's a sense of listening to a generic psychedelic band that sounds better than many such acts mostly by virtue of benefiting from Elektra's high-class production, here handled by Paul Rothchild of Doors fame. Put another way, the songs themselves aren't as good as their arrangements. "Fields of People," about the best of those songs, might be the most famous one here due to getting covered in an elongated treatment by the Move, who did a better job with it than Ars Nova.

1 comment: