Monday, February 29, 2016

Anthony Moore - 1976 - Out

Anthony Moore

01. Stitch In Time
02. A Thousand Ships
03. The River
04. Please Go
05. You Tickle
06. Lover Of Mine
07. Johnny's Dead
08. Dreams Of His Laughter
09. Driving Blind
10. The Pilgrim
11. Catch A Falling Star
12. Wrong Again

Vocals, Piano, Synthesizer [String], Celesta - Anthony Moore
Guitar - Andy Summers, Anthony Moore, Peter Blegvad
Bass - Dave Wintour, Kevin Ayers, Steve Thompson
Drums - Barry Da Souza, Eddie Sparrow
Mandolin, Violin - Graham Preskett
Organ - Anthony Moore, Graham Preskett

On Moore's first post-Slapp Happy venture, he is joined by an impressive collection of sidemen, including Kevin Ayers, Andy Summers (who would shortly be picked up by the Police), and former bandmate Peter Blegvad. Filled to the brim with sunny tunes, string arrangements applied with a light hand, and Moore's rough around the edges vocals, Out is always pleasing, if a bit slight in comparison with his Slapp Happy material. His version of the old Perry Como (!) standard "Catch a Falling Star" is an unexpected delight.

1 comment: