Sunday, January 17, 2016

Rising Sons - 1966 - Rising Sons

Rising Sons
Rising Sons

01. Statesboro Blues
02. If The River Was Whiskey
03. By And By (Poor Me)
04. Candy Man
05. 2:10 Train
06. Let The Good Times Roll
07. 44 Blues
08. 11th Street Overcrossing
09. Corrina Corrina
10. Tulsa County
11. Walking Down The Line
12. The Girl With Green Eyes
13. Sunny's Dream
14. Spanish Lace Blues
15. The Devil's Got My Woman
16. Take A Giant Step
17. Flyin' So High
18. Dust My Broom
19. Last Fair Deal Gone Down
20. Baby What You Want Me To Do
21. Statesboro Blues version 2
22. I Got A Little

*Taj Mahal - Vocals, Harmonica, Guitar, Piano
*Ry Cooder - Vocals, 6-string, 12-string, Slide, Bottleneck Guitars, Mandolin
*Jesse Lee Kincaid (Nick Gerlach) - Vocals, Guitar
*Gary Marker - Bass
*Kevin Kelley - Drums, Percussion

No one knew quite what to make of this L.A. band in the mid-'60s, who unbelievably included Ry Cooder, Taj Mahal, Kevin Kelley (later in the Byrds), and even Ed Cassidy (briefly) in the same lineup.

They only managed one single on Columbia before breaking up in 1966, but they also got to lay down an album's worth of unreleased material, which was finally issued over 25 years later.

Their languid, bluesy, folksy sort of sound anticipated future recordings by outfits like Moby Grape, Buffalo Springfield, the Grateful Dead, and even the country-rock Byrds.

Their lone single and unreleased album form the core of this 22-track reissue, which features imaginative rearrangements of standards like "Corrine, Corrina," an obscure Dylan cover ("Walkin' Down the Line"), rocking originals, a confident performance of Goffin/King's "Take a Giant Step" (later Mahal's signature tune), and nifty guitar interplay between Mahal and Cooder throughout.

Overall, it sounds a lot more like it belongs in 1967-1968 than 1965-1966. This archival release has value above and beyond historical interest.

This mid-'60s curio would have served as an introduction to two remarkable musicians had it not been buried in the vaults at Columbia Records from 1966 until 1992. Taj Mahal and Ry Cooder were two of the unfortunate Sons, who were briefly an L.A. club phenomenon. Neither man was in full possession of his talent, and the album (produced by Terry Melcher of Byrds fame) is more rewarding as an historical artifact than as a country-blues breakthrough.

This is a must CD for fans of Taj Mahal and Ry Cooder. The sound is bit like Country Blues takes a ride on a LA freeway, but you have to love such great cuts as "Take A Giant Step," "Last Fair Deal Gone Down," and "Corrin, Corrina" cause you already know what these fine musicians recorded down the road.

1 comment:

  1. .