Sunday, January 3, 2016

Jan Akkerman & Claus Ogerman - 1978 - Aranjuez

Jan Akkerman & Claus Ogerman 

01. Adagio from "Concierto de Aranjuez" (Joaquin Rodrigo) (5:55)
02. Nightwings (Claus Ogerman) (4:50)
03. Modinha (Heitor Villa-Lobos) (5:34)
04. Espanoleta (Gaspar Sanz) (5:05)
05. Pavane Pour Une Infante Defunte (Maurice Ravel) (6:46)
06. Love Remembered (Jan Akkerman) (3:35)
07. The Seed of God (from "Magdalena") (Heitor Villa-Lobos) (5:39)
08. Bachianas Brasileiras No.5 (Heitor Villa-Lobos) (5:47)

- Jan Akkerman / Guitars
- Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen / bass
- Claus Ogerman / arrangements and orchestra direction

Jan Akkerman and Claus Ogerman's 'Aranjuez' (1978) is defenitely among the most beautiful records in my collection. Claus Ogerman arrangemends for orchestra are moody, mysterious and stylish. He can easily switch between peacefull and darker atmospheres or between bombastic and fragile environments.
All pieces are symphonic with a modern classical music feel with loads of interesting harmonies, making this interesting for progressive rock listeners. All tracks have slow, soulful pace. As a listener of Frank Sinatra's all ballad string albums (I warmly recommend 'No Once Cares' and 'Only The Lonely'), I almost feel like this could almost have been a Frank Sinatra record - which is not too far from the truth since Claus Ogerman has also written arrangments for the Voice.

The guitar of Jan Akkerman have never sound more emotional engaging, more sensitive and well performed. His jazz guitar with a slight distortion is recorded beautifully and reminds us of moviesoundtracks of dessert and western movies. Great phrasing and storytelling. I wish this side of Akkerman would have been more prominent in his carrere.

Conclusion. Beautiful, relaxing and soulfull music for when the sun is down.

1 comment: