Saturday, January 16, 2016

Ihre Kinder - 1969 - Ihre Kinder

Ihre Kinder 
 Ihre Kinder

01. Mädchen
02. Kinderspiel
03. Madame
04. Hallo, Sie
05. Der Clown
06. Vergissmeinnicht
07. Schwarzer Engel
08. Was kann ich denn dafür
09. Der kleine König
10. Schwarzer Peter
11. Wenn Liebe das ist
12. Pastiki und Plastika

- Sonny Hennig / vocals, keyboards
- Muck Groh / guitar
- Walti Schneider / bass, vocals
- Georgie Meyer / flute, bells, vocals
- Olders Frenzel / drums, guitar
- Judith Brigger / vocals

IHRE KINDER can be placed at the roots of the so-called "Krautrock". As the first rock band at all they produced in their mother-tongue German and published five main albums between 1969 and 1972.

The core of IHRE KINDER were the keyboarder and singer Sonny Hennig, the guitarist Ernst Schultz and the producer Jonas Porst. Their music combined influences from the American protest song (Bob Dylan), white blues music from England and - in a cautious way - the typical German electronic rock music of the early 70s to a progressive und unique mixture. Their most impressive songs are about political topics like nuclear armament ("Toter Soldat") or social problems like drugs ("Weißer Schnee, Schwarze Nacht"). At their early time the phrase "progressive" was yet to be born. Lacking other definitions they were elected the best German "Blues band" by the readers of "Express" in 1970. Key albums were "Leere Hände" (1970) - also published in the UK as "Empty Hands" - "2375 004" (1970) - also known as "Jeanscover" - and "Werdohl" (1971), by which Ernst Schultz had substituted Jonas Porst as producer.

SONNY HENNIG published the solo album "Tränengas" in 1971, in which he discussed the political situation in Germany from a left-wing view, and in the same year ERNST SCHULTZ recorded his opus "Paranoia Picknick", which excelled with a blend of serious lyrics and sophisticated guitar work. The best of the latter was "Synthetischer Orient No. 1".

After the break-up in 1972 every now and then band members came together to play at festivals and recorded some albums, none of them of greater importance.

Nuremberg's most valuable contribution to the polit-rock scene was the group Ihre Kinder. In the mid-sixties the pop band Jonah & The Whales was assembled, consisting of Roland Multhaupt (drums), Sonny Hennig (vocals), Thommy Roder (bass), Ernst Schultz (guitar) and Georgie Meyer (violin). In 1966, they recorded a cover version of "It Ain't Me Babe" for a single on Vogue (DVS 14511). This proved to be an ill-fated one-off attempt, and the group disbanded. However, in 1968, Jonas Porst and Sonny Hennig decided to form a new group with Muck Groh (guitar), Karl Mack (bass), Peter Schmidt (drums) and Georgie Meyer (flute, vocals). Ihre Kinder was to be a politically aware band using German lyrics. Porst's dad was quite a rich man, who was able to support the forthcoming activities. Porst himself soon gave up the drumming and became Ihre Kinder's producer and manager. Several demo tapes were recorded but no record companies were interested. In July - August 1969 an album was recorded at the Dierks Studio at the band's own risk; and was eventually released by Phillips. Mack had now been replaced by Walti Schneider (bass). A female vocalist, Judith Brigger, also took part in this project. The album admittedly sounds quite dated today, featuring 12 short and easy-going folk-pop songs. Still it must be honoured as it is one of the first records of 'Deutschrock' with German lyrics.

1 comment: