Thursday, January 14, 2016

3rd Avenue Blues Band - 1970 - Fantastic

3rd Avenue Blues Band 

01. Rose Garden – 3:16
02. It’s Got To Be Love – 2:26
03. I Know About Love – 4:15
04. Put A Little Love – 4:00
05. Hawk’s Blues – 5:08
06. Don’t Make Me Laugh – 2:53
07. Come On And Get It – 3:19
08. It’s Your Thing – 5:12
09. If You Don’t Want Me – 3:08
10. Bad Moon Rising – 5:05
11. Mean Greens – 5:13

Harold Jones — vocals, rhythm instruments
Harlan Rogers — vocals, organ bass, piano
Hadley «Hawk» Hockensmith — guitar, bass
Bob Beasley – saxophone
Mark Underwood  — trumpet
Bill Maxwell – drums

Beautiful 1970 Original From The Blue-Eyed Jazz Funksters Falling Somewhere Between Tower Of Power And The Albert. Includes The Outstanding "Come And Get It" Plus Covers Of Eddie Harris, The Isleys And More.

This starts off a little slow with some average covers, certainly played well, indicating the quality of this groups playing. The covers are instantly recognisable, "Rose Garden" not one I care for a lot. The next track is much better with a second vocalist who has a familiar sounding voice and the music is firmly in the Blood, Sweat & Tears school of Pop-Rock and also sounds like something The Blues Brothers would do. After another couple of well executed but not outstanding covers things take a decisive turn for the better with a great "Super Session" Blues number in "Hawks' Blues, followed by a classic Blood, Sweat & Tears sounding  funky number in "Don't Make Me Laugh" Things stay brilliantly Blusy, Jazzy and funky on "Come and get it and I'm not sure of any of the last three tracks are originals or covers, but they are impressive to say the least. "It's Your Thing" keeps up the relentless tempo of great music before they slow things down again with what I believe is another cover. "Bad Moon Rising" is the best cover here as the actually do something slightly different from the original and pull it off well. The album finishes on a high with a great jazzy instrumental that is most impressive and the Sax is great. Overall a pretty good listen with the music getting much better on the later part of the album when things get more uptempo and funky.



  2. Excelente disco, lo tengo desde hace varios años. Masterpiece!!!