Wednesday, December 2, 2015

Third Eye - 1976 - Third Eye

Third Eye 
Third Eye


01. Protuberans   
02. Sound Circle   
03. All About Us   
04. Eichendorff 8
05. Serius
06. Basic Train   
07. Bloodstream   
08. Arco-Mio   
09. Bass-Raga   

Bass, Percussion – Alfred Haurand
Congas, Cowbell [Cowbells], Percussion – Steve Boston (3)
Drums, Mellotron – Frank Köllges
Electric Piano [Fender], Synthesizer [Hohner String Melody, Arp Odyssey], Mellotron – Jan Huydts

Recorded 11th and 12th of January 1976 at Blackfield Studio, Kirchhellen, Germany.

Side A has no run-out groove (not to be confused with a locked groove) which means it will play forever if not returned to the tonearm base.

On the surface, Third Eye would seem to be a typical mid to late 1970s kraut fusion album, of which there are dozens. That is, until you hear the mellotron being played like a flautist would play his solo! It's really odd to hear this traditional symphonic prog / electronik musik instrument used in this context. For this alone, Third Eye is worth seeking out. There's also a classically inspired romantic piece, cocktail piano, a drum solo, typical fusion runs. Bizarre.

Multi-national 70's act, that made its way through Progressive Rock and Jazz/Fusion, very popular in Germany, and led by two Dutchmen, keyboardist Jan Huydts and bassist Ali Haurand.The original late-60's line-up featured also drummer Leo de Ruyter.Many musicians came and go, as the band was a steady value at the Moers Festival, by mid-70's Huydts and Haurand were joined by German multi-instrumentalist Frank Köllges and American percussionist Steve Boston.This four-piece lineup recorded Third Eye's self-titled debut in January 76' at Blackfield Studio in Kirchhellen, Germany, eventually released on Ring Records.

The first side of the album is a unique blend of electric Jazz/Fusion with romantic Orchestral/Symphonic Rock.The tracks have a definite jazzy edge with dominant electric piano parts and a loose rhythm section, but their often interrupted by the huge Mellotron waves of Huydts and Köllges, which have an orchestral sound.The sound is even more enriched with beautiful piano interludes and superb Mellotron-flutes.Very cool stuff.The flipside opens with the long ''Serius'', which is very close to the likes of Canterbury/Fusion with incredible solos and nervous passages by Huydts on synths, the Mellotron-flutes are still present, while Boston offres some very fiery percussion work.The rest of the short tracks are a blend of Avant-Jazz and Ethnic Fusion, containing plenty of bass lines and perscussion , much in the vein the band would follow a year later.

Very good and really obscure release, that deserves a legit re-issue.Original and unique Symph/Jazz/Prog/Fusion for lovers of adventurous listenings.Strongly recommended.