Friday, December 18, 2015

Gil Scott-Heron & Brian Jackson - 1980 - 1980

Gil Scott-Heron & Brian Jackson 

01. Shut 'Um Down   
02. Alien (Hold On To Your Dreams)   
03. Willing   
04. Corners   
05. 1980   
06. Push Comes To Shove   
07. Shah Mot (The Shah Is Dead / Checkmate)   
08. Late Last Night   

Gil Scott-Heron: producer, writer, vocals, piano
Brian Jackson: producer, piano, electric piano, keyboard bass, arrangements, synthesizer, kettle drums, drums, background vocals, writer
Malcolm Cecil: producer, engineering, mixing
Maxine Waters: background vocals
Julia Waters: background vocals
Marti McCall: background vocals
Bill Watrous: horns
Gordon Goodwin: horns
Denis Sirias: horns

It's hard to top the brilliance of Gil Scott-Heron's best work either on his own or with Brian Jackson.  This isn't his best work but it's still pretty great and well worth a listen.
Thought-provoking poetry set to some fine-ass funky grooves. Match-made in heaven. Super underrated but I'm glad the new generation of hipsters are picking up on this.

1 comment: