Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Soul Survivors - 1969 - Take Another Look

Soul Survivors 
Take Another Look


01. Funky Way to Treat Somebody
02. Baby Please Don't Stop
03. Jesse
04. Mama Soul
05. Darkness
06. We Got a Job to Do
07. Keep Your Faith Brother
08. Tell Daddy
09. Got Down On Saturday
10. (Why Don't You) Go Out Walking
11. Turn Out My Fire

Richard Ingui (vocals)
Charles Ingui (vocals)
Kenny Jeremiah (vocals)
Edward Leonetti (guitar)
Joey Fongioni (drums)
Ronnie Vance (bass)
Paul Ventunni (keyboards)
John Dzubak (drums)

The Soul Survivors were an American, Philadelphia-based R&B group, founded by New York natives Richie and Charlie Ingui and Kenny Jeremiah, known for their 1967 hit single "Expressway to Your Heart", which was the first hit by Philadelphia soul record producers and songwriters Kenny Gamble and Leon Huff.

The Soul Survivors first played together in New York under the name The Dedications, founded by member Kenny Jeremiah, who released several singles under this name in 1962 and 1964. They adopted the name Soul Survivors in 1965. They signed to Philadelphia label Crimson Records, who put them in touch with Gamble & Huff. "Expressway to Your Heart" was a #1 hit regionally in Philadelphia and New York in the fall of 1967, and the tune reached #4 on the Billboard Hot 100 nationally. "Expressway to Your Heart" spent 15 weeks in the charts and sold over one million copies.

The follow-up was "Explosion in Your Soul, which was not as successful (U.S. #33); a third release, "Impossible Mission", also was a minor hit in 1969 (U.S. #68). They quit playing for a few years, but re-formed with a different lineup in 1972. They had one more hit, "City of Brotherly Love" in 1974. In the 1970s, the group lost its record contract and its manager and eventually disbanded. Charlie Ingui became a landscaper, Richie Ingui became a house painter, Paul Venturini became a restaurateur, and drummer Joe Forgione owned an auto body shop. In 1987, the Inqui brothers began playing occasional gigs as the original Soul Survivors and signed a five-record contract in 1991 with Society Hill Records. As of 2006, they were playing occasional dates in the Eastern United States.

Chuck Trois also went on to release a solo 45 rpm single on A&M Records in August 1969, with "Mr. Holmes" on one side, and "A National Band" on the other.

1 comment:

  1. http://www.filefactory.com/file/4r364xymc6v9/2645.rar