Friday, November 13, 2015

Ougenweide - 1976 - Ohrenschmaus


01. Bombarde-Ment 1:10
02. Kommt ihr Jungfern helft mir klagen 5:03
03. Eines Freitags im Wald 3:11
04. Pferdesegen (Contra Uermes) 2:00
05. Bald anders 6:32
06. Im Badehaus 3:08
07. Owê wie jaemerliche 4:21
08. Engelboltes Tochter Aven 3:01
09. Rumet uz die Schäemel und die stüele 1:54
10. Alfol 1:00
11. Der Schlemihl 3:55
12. Merseburger Spieluhr 0:37

Minne Graw/ vocals, Harmonium...
Olaf Casalich/ vocals, percussions
Stefan Wulff: bass guitar, accordion...
Wolfgang von Henko/ electric guitar, mandoline...
Jürgen Isenbarth/ Marimbaphone, Vibraphone...
Frank Wulff: flute, Bombarde, Bouzouki, Mandoline,Harmonium, vocals

Third album from this Hamburg sextet and the second with the same line-up, Ohrenschmaus (ear-fest in German) is slightly different album (the one that broke them nationally), this short (34 mins) album is a little more upbeat (even danceable at times) and is yet another essential album of theirs. Sporting a charming artwork (the kid is of the Wulff brothers' family), the album is again full of old Middle High German texts (from the 13th Century) put to the group's music or traditional songs.
After a rather difficult start (the opening track is thankfully short, but sounds eerily badly played), the album settles quickly into its groove with the jumpy Kommt (the middle section is superb) and the reflective Freitags with its dominating piano. The album climaxes with the superb Bald Anders, which is constantly evolving and twists your hearing sense silly. After the charming Owe Wie Jaermerliche (where Minne Graw's voice reaches treble peaks), the instrumental Engelboltes is sending the listener to heaven again, with delightful drumming, great flute work. Around the end of the album we are treated to a superb Der Schlemihl track and a short outro.

Yet another great album that only confirmed Ougenweide's reputation as a adventurous group, reaching into pre-classical and medieval music (much like Malicorne did in the same years) and if the album is also essential, once linked with the following Eulenspiegel album, it becomes a must-have.

1 comment: