Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Wynder K. Frog - 1967 - Sunshine Super Frog

Wynder K. Frog 
Sunshine Super Frog


01. Sunshine Superman
02. I Feel So Bad
03. Oh Mary
04. Blues For A Frog
05. Somebody Help Me
06. Mercy
07. Hold On, I'm Coming
08. Shook, Shimmy And Shake
09. Insence
10. Walking To New Orleans
11. Don't Fight It (Feel It)
12. Dancin' Pain
Bonus Track:
13. I'm A Man

Mick Weaver - keyboards
Dick Heckstall-Smith - saxophone
Neil Hubbard - guitar
Alan Spenner - bass
Chris Mercer - saxophone
Bruce Rowland - drums
Ron Carthy - horn
Rebop Kwaku Baah - percussion

The hopelessly rare 'Sunshine Superfrog' originally only available as the Island label 12-track LP.12 top quality mod soul Hammond tracks and the LP never really lets up for a minute. A choice mixture of covers such as "Somebody Help Me","Sunshine Superman", "Hold On, I'm Coming" and "(Don't Fight it) Feel It" and more the classic " original '"I Feel So Bad". Now here it is with one bonus track "I'm A Man"

All tracks featured Mick Weaver as Wynder K. Frog, playing a Hammond B3 organ and were recorded in London playing over backing tapes by unnamed session musicians from New York. In the album liner notes Jimmy Miller noted that Weaver had "supplemented the band with trumpet, tenor sax, guitar, bass and drums, Wynder has transformed the organ into a highly enjoyable medium of sound, combining jazzy finesse with popular and commercial phrasing suitable for vast appeal".

1 comment: