Tuesday, August 4, 2015

Blo - 1973 - Chapter One

Chapter One

01. Preacherman 4:45
02. Time to Face the Sun 4:05
03. Beware 4:10
04. We Gonna Have a Party 3:26
05. Don't 6:17
06. Chant to Mother Earth 2:02
07. We Are out Together 2:48
08. Miss Sagitt 4:49

Berkely "Ike" Jones - Guitar, Vocals
Segun Bucknor - Piano
Joni Haastrup - Organ
Mike Odumusu - Bass, Vocals
Laolu "Akins" Akintobi - Conga, Drums, Vocals
Friday Pozo - Conga

Chapter One was Blo s debut album, originally released by EMI in 1973. The group was remarkable for a variety of reasons: it was arguably the first rock trio to emerge from Africa, and its members had a pedigree like few others at the time, having worked as part of
Ginger Baker s band Salt in the years leading to their formation. But the album s enduring appeal and significance resides in the music:
eight tracks of infectious afro-rock that took the band s Afrobeat
foundations and melded them with the western psychedelia, rock, and funk of the late sixties. Making the most of the band s trio format, Chapter One features outstanding guitar work from Jones backed by the funky interplay of Akintobi s drums and Odumosu s bass. Many of the album tracks are remarkable in how they balance a clearly rock-inspired drive with an otherworldly, psychedelic vibe.


  1. Curious to hear this.There is no link here. Thanks

  2. Hey there! Got a link for all us fans?

  3. ooooops


  4. Thanks Drago for the two Blo lp

  5. Thanks for the Blo albums Drago. Been hunting for them for ages. :)