Saturday, July 18, 2015

The Animated Egg - 1967 - The Animated Egg

The Animated Egg 
The Animated Egg

01. A Love Built On Sand - 3:04
02. Inside Looking Out - 3:01
03. I Said, She Said, Ah Cid - 2:14
04. "T"omorrow - 2:33
05. Sure Listic - 1:49
06. Sippin' And Trippin' - 2:10
07. Dark - 1:54
08. Down, Down And Gone - 2:22
09. Sock It My Way - 3:26
10. That's How It Is - 3:28

CD Bonus

11. Fool's Luck  (with The Generation Gap) - 3:17
12. What's Your Bag? (with T. Swift & The Electric Bag) - 2:09
13. Boil The Kettle  (with The Projection Company) - 3:07
14. Light Show (with The Stone Canyon Rock Group) - 2:52
15. Expo In Sound  (with T. Swift & The Electric Bag) - 4:35
16. Free Form In 6  (with T. Swift & The Electric Bag) - 2:08
17. Our Man Hendrix (with The Projection Company) - 3:09
18. Red Eyes  (with T. Swift & The Electric Bag) - 2:58
19. Hard Times (with The Generation Gap) - 2:44
20. Tune Out Of Place  (with The Projection Company) - 2:25
21. Kimeaa  (with The Projection Company) - 2:48

*Jerry Cole - Guitars, 12-string Guitar
*Edgar Lamar - Drums
*Don Dexter - Drums
*Tommy Lee - Bass
*Glenn Cass - Bass
*Billy Joe Hastings - Guitar
*Norm Cass - Guitar
*Billy Preston - Organ

The Burbank, California-based Alshire label was best known for it's cheapy international music ("The Sounds of Spain", "The Tijuana Sound", "Hawaiian Paradise") and 101 String MOR collections. In pursuit of profit more than content to jump on a promising musical trend, 1967 saw the label shell out some cash to have anonymous studio musicians write and record a series of psych and metal oriented instrumentals. Slapping a pseudo-trippy cover on the results (ignore the dazed long haired teens pictured on the cover since they certainly had nothing to do with the set), the cleverly titled "The Animated Egg" proved surprising accomplished. With little at stake, the anonymous band (no performing or writing credits provided ), roared through an all-instrumental set; material such as "A Love Built On Sand", "I Said, She Said, Ah Cid" and "Sock It My Way" heavy on fuzz, feedback and swirling organ. Elsewhere, "Sippin' an Trippin'" offered up a nifty slice of Byrds-styled jangle rock, while "Tomorrow" was a blatant rip-off of The Spencer Davis Group's "Gimme Some Lovin'". Sure, it wasn't going to change your life, but in terms of enjoyment the set was a blast. Name an album where it sounds like the band had as much fun at the recording session ...
To make it even more complicated, Alshire reissue some of the material (and other stuff apparently recorded at the same sessions) credited to 101 Strings "Astro Sounds from Beyond the Year 2000" (with a wonderful cheesy cover), Bebe Bardon and 101 Strings "The Sounds of Love" and The Black Diamonds' "A Tribute To Jimi Hendrix".

In the 1960s, Jerry Cole was one of America's most prolific guitarists, turning his hand to surf music, rock, country, jazz and blues and playing on sessions for Brian Wilson and Phil Spector. He would replace less proficient group members at recordings, making the acts sound better than they were.

He was born Jerald Kolbrack in 1939 in Wisconsin and was raised in Chicago, which had a thriving blues scene. As Jerry Cole he joined the Champs, who recorded the million-selling instrumental "Tequila" (1958). A few years later, he and another Champ, Glen Campbell, decided to try their luck as session guitarists in Los Angeles.

Bobby Darin recommended Cole to Capitol Records and he made a succession of instrumental albums as Jerry Cole and His Spacemen, starting with Outer Limits (1963), a combination of surf and space-age music. Capitol tried Cole as a vocalist but it was decided his voice was not strong enough.

With such big names as Hal Blaine (drums) and Larry Knechtel (keyboards), Cole was part of the Wrecking Crew, Phil Spector's session band, and is featured on the Ronettes' "Be My Baby". He is heard on the familiar records of the Byrds ("Mr Tambourine Man"), the Dixie Cups ("Chapel of Love"), Them ("Here Comes The Night") and Paul Revere and the Raiders ("Kicks"). The producer Lee Hazlewood also used him for several Nancy Sinatra sessions, including "These Boots are Made for Walkin'".

As a studio guitarist, Cole had residencies in numerous television series including Shindig!, Hullabaloo, The Sonny and Cher Show and Rowan and Martin's Laugh-In. He made a score of low-budget, but still technically proficient, instrumental LPs which were sold in supermarkets under a variety of names. Cole worked on the road for Andy Williams for three years and Roger Miller for five.

In 1966, Brian Wilson recorded the backing tracks for Pet Sounds while the other Beach Boys were on tour, and Cole played on "Wouldn't It Be Nice" and "Sloop John B". He was also used on the Beach Boys album 15 Big Ones (1976), which was around the time he was working with Phil Spector on Dion's mesmerising Born To Be With You.

When psychedelia was coming in, he recorded several albums in this style including The Animated Egg (1966). He played on the blues album Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee and the Aloha From Hawaii television special with Elvis Presley, both in 1973, and worked as a studio musician with Dean Martin and Frank Sinatra.

In 2006, Cole returned to surf music with the album Back to the Boards. Last year, he was recording again with Brian Wilson.
by Spencer Leigh

In January 2008 Jerry Cole heard The Animated Egg for the first time since he recorded it in Los Angels some forty years earlier " we made a damned good record" he said.  Five months later on May 28th 2008, he passed away, went on the big trip to meet again with his buddies in heaven's Great  Band.

1 comment: