Thursday, July 23, 2015

Samurai - 1970 - Samurai



01. Green Tea (5:38)
02. Eagle's Eye (5:50)
03. Boy With A Gun (5:06)
04. 18th Century (1:03)
05. Four Seasons (9:51)
06. Mandalay (6:23)
07. Daffy Drake (2:46)

- Mickey Curtis / voices, flute
- Mike Walker / voices, percussion
- Joe Dunnet / guitars
- Hiro Izumi / guitars, koto
- John Redfern / keyboards, recorder
- Tetsuo Yamauchi / bass
- Yujin Harada / drums
- Graham Smith / harmonica

Mickey CURTIS was born of English parents in Tokyo, Japan in 1938. After the end of The World War II he lived by singing in the Occupation Forces or Camps, and as a result he was approved as a rockabilly singer. Although he had been an active pop singer and a frontman of two chorus-pop outfits named 'City Crows' and 'Vanguards' in mid 60s, he was awakened to rock suddenly and finally formed SAMURAI (The SAMURAIS in their early days) in 1967. During the first two years SAMURAI made a lot of gigs and released two albums - "Tenor Sax Of Love" (1968; as The SAMURAIS) and "Samurai" (1970) - in Europe. In early 1969 their soundscape was completely shifted to progressive rock, and we can easily realize the fact especially in their eponymous album. Soon after that they came back to Japan and released "Kappa" (1971), which has been appreciated as a masterpiece of Heavy Progressive Rock in Japan.

Mickey's said "There is no way for childish bands in Japanese rock scene. We need to produce our originality to raise the level of Japanese Rock higher than of Western nation as soon as possible."

After SAMURAI disbanded, Mickey released "Mimi" (1972) as a solo artist and has been active as a pop & country singer or a TV actor in Japan.



    1. Hello Drago, thanks for share this underground music,
      now The link is dead, please reupload