Tuesday, July 28, 2015

If - 1973 - Double Diamond

Double Diamond

01. Play,Play,Play
02. Pebbles On The Beach
03. Pick Me Up (And Put Me Back On The Road)
04. Another Time Around (Is Not For Me)
05. Groupie Blue (Everyday She´s Got The Blues)
06. Fly,Fly,the Route Shoot
07. Feel Thing - Part 1
08. Feel Thing - Part 2
09. Feel Thing - Part 3

- Dick Morrissey / flute, tenor and soprano saxophone , lead and background vocals
- Cliff Davies / drums, percussion, background vocals
- Kurt Palomacki / bass, background vocals
- Fi Trench / piano, background vocals
- Steve Rosenthal - guitar, lead and background vocals
- Pete Arnesen - piano, organ, synthesizer, background vocals

The original IF line-up split up in the mid of 1972 due to serious health problems of its founder member Dick Morrissey. After successful recuperation Morrissey revived IF with completly new crew and they recorded 'Double Diamond' . Material presented on this album differs very much from their earlier releases and somehow indicated more rocking direction which will be consequently developed on their next two albums. From A side of LP second number 'Pebbles On The Beach' attracts with its acoustic tune where dominate strong rhythm giving bass of Kurt Palomacki together with superb Morrissey flute; the real highlight of the whole album, in my opinion at least , is this side closing track 'Another Time Around (Is Not For Me)' where nice melody shines accompanied by Arnesen's impressive piano and Rosenthal's guitar. The B side is more or less rocking, close to its harder edge, except Part 2 and Part 3 of 'Feel Thing'. This 'transition' album is quite a solid cut, but nothing more than that.

1 comment:

  1. http://www.filefactory.com/file/5l114y3ver0f/2391.rar