Friday, July 3, 2015

Daniel Denis - 1993 - Les Eaux Troubles

Daniel Denis 
Les Eaux Troubles

01. Les Portes – 7:13
02. Stratageme – 3:22
03. Deploration Funebre Mais Non Destinee Aux Morts – 4:38
04. Petit Choral – 1:20
05. Electronika Mambo-Musette – 5:27
06. Coeur De Boeuf – 2:37
07. Opus Rictus – 4:59
08. Histoire Belge – 1:36
09. Bulgarian Flying Spirit Dances – 5:43
10. Rumeurs D’En Bas – 3:00
11. The Devil’s Kitchen – 2:01
12. Second Presage – 8:09
13. Histoire Belge (Reprise) – 0:38

- Daniel Denis / drums, percussion, keyboards, noises
- Francois Garny / bass
- Guy Segers / bass
- Pierre Vervloesem / guitar
- Andy Kirk / piano, guitar
- Dirk Descheemaeker / clarinet, bass clarinet, Soprano saxophone
- Michel Massot / bass tuba
- Daniel Stokart / Alto saxophone
- Jan Kuijken / cellos
- Jean-Pierre Catoul / violin
- Bart Quartier / marimba

For his second solo album in a two year gap, Daniel Denis invited more “friends” and this guest list reads a bit like a who’s who of experimental rock in Belgium. Catoul is now defunct but was a good violinist, Segers of course an ancient UZ and Present alumni, Vervloesem is the guitarist leader of those crazy X-Legged Sally, and more…. Without forgetting future-UZ members Kuiken and Descheemaeker.

Unlike the previous album, the tracks are shorter and some suggest a bit of humour something almost inconcievable with such somber music still very much in Univers Zero mould. This is the most musically diverse and probably the most personally revealing work of this remarkable composer and performer.

The two lengthy tracks that open and (almost) close the album are closest in style to Univers Zero, and in between them he lets his muse run free and pays homage to some of his influences. ‘Coeur de Boeuf’ – literally translated ‘Heart of Beef’ is a deftly executed tip of the hat to another great individual stylist, Captain Beefheart, and features some nimble marimba playing from future Univers Zero member Bart Quartier. ‘Bulgarian Flying Spirit Dances’ draws heavily on the East European composers who are an obvious influence on his work, particularly Bartok. ‘Opus Rictus’, despite the sombre title, is almost playful, propelled along by bass tuba and some agreeably daft massed voices. Denis’ drumming is impeccable throughout, and he coaxes superb performances from all his guests. Jan Kuijken on cello and Dirk Descheemaeker on clarinet make particularly fine contributions.

Whilst it’s not exactly easy listening, this is probably the most accessible of Denis’ work to date.



  2. thank you Drago for all this great Music

  3. thank you Mr Drago beautifull music