Thursday, May 14, 2015

Joy Unlimited - 1970 - Overground

Joy Unlimited

01. Save Me Save Me
02. Groove With What You've Got
03. All Together Now
04. I Hold No Grudge
05. Feelin'
06. Take Me To The Pilot
07. Have You Met Anyone Lately
08. It's Not Alright
09. I Just Made Up My Mind
10. Mr Pseudonym
11. Mr Slater
12. Helpless Child
13. Sunshine
14. Oh Darlin'
15. Daytime Nighttime

Joy Fleming / vocals
Hans W. Herkenne / drums, percussion
Albin Metz / trumpet, bass
Roland Heck / organ, piano, vibes, marimba, percussion, vocals
Dieter Kindl / bass, guitar, percussion
Gerd Köthe / saxophone, flute
Klaus Nagel / guitar, woodwind, percussion, flute
Hans Lingenfelder / guitar

A great combo from Mannheim, Germany, also known as JOY AND THE HITKIDS. They were mixing jazz-rock, krautrock, funk, soul, pop and psychedelic rock, with Hans W. Herkenne (drums, percussion), Albin Metz (trumpet, bass), Roland Heck (organ, piano, vibes, marimba, percussion, vocals), Dieter Kindl (bass, guitar, percussion), Gerd Köthe (saxophone, flute), Klaus Nagel (guitar, woodwind, percussion, flute) and Hans Lingenfelder (guitar).

Led by extraordinary vocal skills of female singer Joy Fleming, the band released their debut 'Overground'in 1970 (released under the name 'Turbulence' in UK and 'Joy Unlimited' in the US). Their second album, 'Schmetterlinge' (which means 'Butterflies' in German) along with the debut is the most representative band's material, and certainly worth checking.

This 1970 album by the German group Joy Unlimited was, to the eternal confusion of discographers, issued under three separate titles. In Germany, it was called Overground, in the UK, Turbulence and in the US, simply Joy Unlimited. Although the band would later go in a more progressive direction, this LP was not all that progressive in nature, and not at all like the avantart rock of the 1970s Krautrock movement.
Instead, it was a competent amalgam of trends in American and British mainstream rock, pop, and soul, rather like the kind flashed by numerous bands emerging in neighboring Holland at the same time, like Shocking Blue.
Joy Unlimited sang entirely in English and were fronted by a woman singer Joy Fleming, as well as an array of guitar and organ textures and breaks and samples galore.

1 comment: